Ads Top

Legislative council

Legislative council
•Legislative council abolished in J&K as per Section 57 of the J&K Reorganisation Bill, 2019, which reduced the State to the Union Territories of J&K and Ladakh.
•India has a bicameral system i.e., two Houses of Parliament. At the state level, the equivalent of the Lok Sabha is the Vidhan Sabha or Legislative Assembly; that of the Rajya Sabha is the Vidhan Parishad or Legislative Council
•Under Article 169 of the constitution, Parliament may by law create or abolish the second chamber in a state if the Legislative Assembly of that state passes a resolution to that effect by a special majority
▫️How are members of the Council elected?
•1/3rd of members are elected by members of the Assembly.
•1/3rd by electorates consisting of members of municipalities, district boards and other local authorities in the state.
•1/12th by an electorate consisting of teachers.
•1/12th by registered graduates.
•The remaining 1/6th members are nominated by the Governor

No comments:

Owned by Hemant Satwaliya. Powered by Blogger.